NASCAR Cup Series

Six Pack of Stats: The Sprint All-Star Race

By Stephanie Adair – This week, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at home in Concord, NC. The 30th annual Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway will commence later tonight with only prestige and $1 million on the line. The exhibition race features four 20-lap segments, followed by a 10-lap shootout to decide the winner.

While waiting for the green flag to drop, here is this week’s six-pack of interesting stats:

  • Darrell Waltrip won the inaugural NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race (originally known as The Winston) in 1985. He also went on to win the championship later that year.
  • @JimmieJohnson holds the record for the most All-Star race victories at four. Dale Earnhardt Sr. and @JeffGordonWeb trail behind with three. Could last week’s winner and current point leader Gordon tie his teammate?
  • Only four times has a driver won the All-Star Race from the pole. The last to do this was @KurtBusch in 2010. Will this be accomplished again this year?
  • In 29 races, there have been 19 different winners. Only six drivers – Davey Allison, Earnhardt Sr., Gordon, Johnson, Terry Labonte and Mark Martin – have won more than once.
  • With only three starts, @joeylogano has garnered the best average finish among active drivers at 4.3. Two of his finishes were in the top three, including a second place finish last year. Does Logano become the 20th All-Star Race winner?
  • So far, only seven drivers have been able to sweep both the All-Star Race and Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway in the same year: Waltrip (1985), Allison (1991), Earnhardt Sr. (1993), Gordon (1997), Johnson (2003), @kaseykahne (2008) and Kurt Busch (2010). Each driver however, has only achieved this once.



By Stephanie Adair

Stephanie Adair, a high-school student from St. John’s, Florida, is dual-enrolled in college working toward a degree in Converged Communications. As a contributor to POPULAR SPEED, she enjoys joining her love of writing with her passion for motorsports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.