F2 Open Wheel

Latifi and Rowland Team Up at DAMS

On Monday, DAMS announced that Nicholas Latifi and Oliver Rowland would drive for the team in the 2017 GP2 season.

Latifi is set to race in his second season for them after spending 2016 alongside Alex Lynn, while Rowland moves over from MP Motorsport to replace his compatriot. Rowland will pilot their no.9 car, while Latifi will sit in their no.10 machine in a pairing of two Renault academy drivers.

Canadian Latifi has taken part in 32 races since his debut in 2014, making an instant impact for the team when finishing runner-up to eventual champion Pierre Gasly in the opening feature in Spain last May, the best result of his career to date.

Brit Rowland has raced 29 times in GP2 since 2015, claiming a best result of second place at the Austrian sprint race last season. He finished ninth in the Drivers’ Championship in 2016.

Their new arrival confirmed that he wanted to aim for winning in 2017 in his second full season in the series.

“The overall aim is to go and dominate the championship, that’s my personal target and is shared by the team,” Rowland said.

“DAMS have won championships in previous years with [Davide] Valsecchi, [Romain] Grosjean and [Jolyon] Palmer, so I’m coming to an outfit with a lot of pedigree and I’ll have to make sure I’m at the top of my game.”

Latifi also wants to join his new team-mate at the sharp end of the timesheets.

“Our big goal is to be consistently running at the front and having a better result in the championship than we did last year,” Latifi said.

“I know where we have to improve and the team knows where I have to as well. I’ve already made my first visit to the workshop this year and everyone is extremely motivated. There’s definitely a really positive feeling in the team about the upcoming season.”

Current Confirmed 2017 GP2 Series Grid (TBA = To Be Announced):

Prema Racing: #1 Charles Leclerc, #2 Antonio Fuoco

Racing Engineering: #3 Louis Deletraz, #4 Gustav Malja

Russian Time: #5 TBA, #6 TBA

ART Grand Prix: #7 Nobuharu Matsushita, #8 TBA

DAMS: #9 Oliver Rowland, #10 Nicholas Latifi

Campos Racing: #11 TBA, #12 TBA

MP Motorsport: #14 TBA, #15 Sergio SetteCamara

Trident: #16 TBA, #17 TBA

Rapax: #18 TBA, #19 TBA

Pertamina Arden: #20 Norman Nato, #21 Sean Gelael

Hilmer Motorsport (TBA): #22 TBA, #23 TBA


The thoughts and opinions expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of, its owners, management or other contributors. Any links contained in this article should not be considered an endorsement.

By Cameron Paterson

Cameron Paterson has been a watcher of Formula 1 since 2007, a casual television watch evolved to watching and reading anything related to something with wheels and an engine. A fan of writing, it was a no-brainer about what to do to try and get into motorsport, consistently discussing things about this great sport since 2016.