Home Tracks

ARCA: Grant Enfinger Wins Pole at Toledo Speedway

Grant Enfinger, in the No. 23 Allegiant Travel-GMS Racing Chevrolet SS, won the Menards Pole presented by Ansell Saturday afternoon at Toledo Speedway for Sunday’s 74th running of the Menards 200 presented by Federated Car Care.

Enfinger, in his first attempt in the new ARCA Racing Series composite body car, circled the half-mile Toledo oval in 15.814 seconds, for an average speed of 113.823 mph. It was Enfinger’s third career ARCA pole award.

“We’ve had good speed all year and this is just a testament to how hard this GMS Racing crew works, here at the track and back home in the shop,” Enfinger said.

“They worked really hard on this car. This is our first time in this new composite car and we sure like the way it’s working. We’ve had some bad luck in the last couple of races so I feel like we’re getting past all that. We just need to keep doing what we’re doing and do more of it tomorrow. Toledo’s such a racy little track and you can come from the back, but we’d rather start up front.”

Kyle Weatherman, in the No. 22 Cunningham Motorsports Ford Fusion, qualified second with a speed 112.987 mph.

“We would have liked to have won the pole, but I couldn’t be happier with this Cunningham Motorsports Ford,” said Weatherman. “It’s such an honor to drive for this team. We didn’t get the pole but this car is good enough to win tomorrow. We’re very pleased. I can’t wait for the race.”

Tom Hessert, in the No. 77 Barbera’s Autoland Ford Fusion – also a Cunningham Motorsports machine – qualified third at 112.867 mph.

Michael Lira qualified fourth in the No. 58 Yeomans Ford Fusion at 112.268 mph.

READ MORE: Race Preview and Storylines

Todd Gilliland, in his career-first ARCA Racing Series attempt, qualified fifth in the No. 55 Venturini Motorsports Ford Fusion at 111.690 mph. Gilliland, who just turned 15, will become the youngest driver to ever start an ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards event when the cars roll off Sunday afternoon.

The Menards 200 presented by Federated Car Care is live on CBS Sports Network at 2:00 p.m. ET Sunday afternoon. The starting lineup can be viewed below.

  1. Grant Enfinger
  2. Kyle Weatherman
  3. Tom Hessert
  4. Michael Lira
  5. Todd Gilliland
  6. Frank Kimmel
  7. A.J. Fike
  8. Bubba Pollard
  9. Josh Williams
  10. Ken Schrader
  11. David Levine
  12. Austin Wayne Self
  13. Bobby Hamilton Jr.
  14. Brian Finney
  15. Matt Wallace
  16. Sarah Cornett-Ching
  17. Bo LeMastus
  18. Thomas Praytor
  19. James Swanson
  20. Rick Clifton
  21. Kevin Rutherford
  22. Brandon McKenzie
  23. Shawn Szep
  24. Richard Doheny
  25. Josh White
  26. Jordan Williams
  27. Con Nicolopoulos
  28. Mike Abram
  29. Chris Bailey Jr.
  30. Richard Hauck
  31. Dale Matchett
  32. Bobby Gerhart

By Popular Speed

POPULAR SPEED is a Social Media driven website featuring exclusive content, photographs, news and pointed editorials. It’s makeup consists of veteran motorsports journalists as well as the unique voice of developing young talent. POPULAR SPEED was launched in 2013 under the direction of former Sprint Cup Series spotter, Mike Calinoff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.